Canning My Way to Sanity

I have had one heck of a week. Work is crazy, clients are expecting the best (and why not that is what they pay for), family is wondering what’s for dinner. And all I really want to do is pick up the phone and veg for a while with my Radhika. Rad I will make that phone call soon… the family is louder than my wish to hangout on the phone! HA-HA!

I am super busy, trying to do it all.  There really are not enough hours in the day, but one thing I always make time for is cooking.  I think in a past life I was a June Cleaver lady, very domestic, and that is coming out more and more as I get older.  I want my daughter to have all the skills I was shown by my mom, Aunt Frank and grandmothers.  The only real difference is that I am doing it at night and on the weekends and with Ozzy Osbourne or AC-DC blasting in the background!

So Saturday I decided to can some applesauce. I had WAY too many apples leftover from my making of apple butter last weekend so they were calling my name. Five cans done and ready for the pantry. There is nothing better than the sound of popping lids when you have canned. It is music to my ears!

Yes I know I am only showing you 4 jars… one went immediately into the fridge so no need to can it.  And it was gone in less than 24 hours!

You may not think you can can as it is too hard too scary.  I am here to tell you that it is the easiest thing in the world and it is inexpensive!  Again, mom, Aunt Frank and grandmothers all canned and they had the basics for tools.

My tools are from Ace Hardware (love this place for all kinds of things!).  This set was maybe $12, 2 flats of jars (pints and quarts) was maybe $14 and that was it!  I have a huge stock pot already so no need to purchase.  The jars can be used a jillion times over so it is really economical.

I found a great website www.pickyourown.org/allaboutcanning.htm as a refresher for me.  While I have been in the kitchen for all this canning fun as a kid, I can’t remember all the fine points!  So I started there.  Check it out for yourself and give it a whirl!  You will be happy you did.

Love,

Candis aka West

2 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, how fun and rewarding. I’m thinking of canning some salsa this season. Thanks for the reminder!

    I’m stopping in from a link over at Rob’s blog.

    Shannon

    Reply

    • Shannon! Glad you wandered by! I am going to fill my garden with fix’ns for salsa this summer! More cucumbers too for pickles. I made pickles this Christmas for gifts and MAN did it end up being an expensive option! Cucumbers in the dead of winter are pricy!

      See again you soon I hope!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

