I Think I am in Need of an Intervention…

Yep, I am admitting it.  I have a serious problem.  Well I think it is a problem, some might perceive it as a problem.  I have baked 6 loaves of bread in the past 3 days: 4 honey wheat and 2 cinnamon loaves.  I am hooked on a recipe and can’t stop playing with it, altering it and creating loaves of yeasty wheaty goodness. 

You see I have a bread issue that goes way back, generations back to my English ancestors.  My dad’s mother and I would sit and discuss how we could live on bread (potatoes too but I will save that for another post!).  We would toss out favorite toppings for our bread as we both sat back and dreamed of bread.  Peanut butter was a favorite for us both on toasted bread.  We referred to our morning toast with our breakfast as our “desert” for breakfast.  It would be eaten post all other items and topped with good strawberry jam. 

The recipe I am using is from my lovely Radhika.  She found it online and passed it on to me.  She had been making this bread on a week night and having hot bread with dinner!  A Week Night?!?  Yep, it is that easy!

EASY Honey Wheat Bread (2 loaves)

Ingredients:

  • 3-1/2 to 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2-1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 pkg. active dry yeast
  • 1-1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 egg

Preparation:

In large bowl, combine 2 cups all-purpose flour, 1 cup whole wheat flour, yeast, and salt and mix well.In saucepan, heat milk, orange juice, water, honey, and butter until warm.  The milk is going to look a little curdled, that is OK!  It will help feed the yeast!  Next add to flour mixture with egg and stir. I try to go slow here so not to cook the egg! Beat this batter for 3 minutes. Then, gradually stir in rest of whole wheat flour and enough remaining all-purpose flour for a firm dough.

Knead dough on floured work surface, adding more flour if necessary, for 5-8 minutes until smooth. Place dough in a greased bowl, turning to grease the top. Cover and let rise in a warm place about 1 hour, until doubled.

Punch down dough and divide in half. On lightly floured surface, press each piece of dough to a 14×7″ rectangle. Starting with shorter side, roll up tightly. Pinch edges to seal and place dough, seam-side down, into greased 9×5″ bread pans, making sure short ends of bread are snugly fitted against the sides of the pans. Cover and let rise in warm place until the dough fills the corners of the pans and is double in bulk, 30-40 minutes.

Bake in preheated 375 degree oven for 35-40 minutes, until bread is golden brown. Remove from pans and cool on wire racks.

Now for even more goodness…

Now today I used no whole wheat flour and only used all-purpose and dressed it up with some cinnamon and sugar.  When going this route follow all above directions.  When you are ready to roll out to put into your loaf pans, take one egg with a TBLS of water whisked in and brush the flattened 14×7″ rectangle.  Then sprinkle 1/4 cup sugar, a TBLS of flour and 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon on it and roll.  Make sure you really pinch this bread good at the seams and the ends, you don’t want any of the yummy goodness leaking out!

I miss my Grandma Edson, I am sure she would have so enjoyed these past 3 days!  I thought about her even more as the wonderful aroma wafted through the house!  Love you Gramma!

Love,

Candis aka West

One response to this post.

  1. […] that is it!  We served ours with toast (my homemade bread) with lots of my homemade apple butter.  We topped ours with giardiniera.  Not familiar?  We […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

