Burrr it is Cold Out There!

The snow is making that squeaky crunchy sound under my feet as I walk to the car from the office.  I hop in and immediately hit the seat warmer (worlds best invention in my opinion) and tried to get that noise out of my head.  I think that noise actually makes it feel colder.

I finish the 35 minute drive home (no traffic tonight) and jump out of the car to head in the house and there it is again… creek, crunch, squeeeaaaak.  That noise… that cold… I immediately start to think how am I going to get warmed up!?!?

Comfort food will do the trick… spaghetti and meatballs.  The GREAT part of this dinner is that I have both in the freezer ready to pop on the stove!  I spend a Sunday a month making mass quantities of meatballs to freeze just for nights like this.  Meatballs are really versatile and my family LOVES them… especially this recipe.

A dear friend of mine Robyn has a cooking blog and I use her recipe of course with a few tweaks!  Sorry Rob, couldn’t help myself!

BASIC MEATBALLS
Preheat oven to 350

1/2 cup onion, finely chopped

2 Tablespoons butter

1.5 lbs. lean ground beef

1.5 lbs. ground pork

1-1/2 cups plain bread crumbs

3/4 cup milk

1-1/2 teaspoons seasoned salt

1-1/2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon pepper

3 large eggs, lightly beaten

Spray Pam

In a large skillet, melt butter over medium heat. Saute onion until tender but not brown. Set aside.

In a large bowl, mix together: beef/pork, crumbs, cream, salt, au jus, pepper & eggs. Add onion and combine thoroughly. Shape into 3/4 to 1 inch balls, depending on your preference.

Place meatballs on cookie sheet sprayed with Pam; spray meatballs with Pam on the baking sheet.  Bake for 15 minutes, take out and flip the meatballs over and bake again for 10 minutes.  Let cook and freeze what you don’t eat!

MAN does it smell good in my kitchen!  My daughter just got home from her friend’s house and knew exactly what we were having when she walked into the door.  Can you smell it too?  Meatball cooking is a great way to spend one Sunday a month to have a happy family!

Dinner is served… Momma bear, Papa bear and Baby bear!

Love,

Candis aka West

Leave a Reply

