Speaking of Grandmas…

This weekend I got a great text from my neighbor Connie… “I have 4 dead bananas you can have.”.  That can mean only one thing, banana bread time!  I  had 5 of my own WAY over ripe bananas, so a big batch was in order.

I titled this post speaking of Grandma’s, as the smell of ripe bananas remind me of my mom’s mom I called Grandy.  Her house smelled of ripe bananas and Comet.  I love smell triggered memories… 2 good things all rolled together!  Grandy is on my mind roughly every 2 weeks when I end up with a few bananas in the dish that have gone past their eating prime. 

The recipe I use for banana bread is exactly the same as my Grandy’s… it also happens to be my friend Rob’s recipe.  The only real difference is that Grandy always had buttermilk in the fridge and I usually don’t!  So Rob’s way to sour milk takes that place.  But for that, there really is no difference in recipes. 

Oh and no nuts allowed or other objects in my bread… just bananas!!  Never been a fan!  If you are just add it, but please don’t tell me! 

Spray Pam (for greasing pans)
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
2 eggs
4-5 bananas, very ripe (they can be totally black on the outside, it will just be sweeter)
1 cup milk (with 1 Tablespoon plain vinegar added, stir & set aside for 10 min.)
2 teaspoons vanilla
2-1/2 cups plain flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt

Heat oven to 350 and grease two loaf pans with spray Pam.

Mix sugar & butter in a large bowl.  Stir in eggs and add bananas, curdled milk, and vanilla.
Mix until smooth.  Add flour, baking soda, and salt.  Combine and pour into prepared pans.

Bake for 55 minutes and check for doneness. Insert a knife into the center and when it comes out clean (batter-free) it’s done.  Do not over bake, as it will make your bread dry tasting.

The fruits of my Sunday labor… in all their glory.  I love making different size loaves and muffins.  Mixes it up a bit and keeps it interesting.

So I gave Connie her share.  I sent some to a sick neighbor, another to my other neighbor who was having a bad day, a muffin to each of the second grade teachers in Maddy’s school and just a couple left for us.  It’s fine that we had just a little bit left because in 2 more weeks we will start all over again!  I love and miss you Grandy!

Love,

Candy aka West

One response to this post.

  1. […] is a seasonal mix. I used my last box for this client!  My banana mango are from scratch using the banana bread recipe in this blog. I used half banana and half mango instead of all […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

