Dinner Success!

I have been dying to remember to use my left-over spaghetti for a frittata for as long as I can remember!  Every time we have a spaghetti dinner we have a good cup or two hanging out in the fridge.  After it spends a week in the fridge I toss it in the can and think… I should have made a frittata!  (Sometimes I do the little V8 move and knock myself in the head too for dramatic effect!)  Tonight was going to be different!

On the way home from work I plotted what my frittata would consist of.  It is clean out the freezer week in my house and eat what is on hand.  SO… I knew I had finely chopped broccoli in there.  I think there might be some bits of ham from way back too.  I gathered my goodies and here is what I created.

Wednesday Night Frittata

10 eggs

Splash of milk

Few turns of pepper, salt and a sprinkle of garlic powder 

4oz cheddar cheese

1/2 a bag of frozen chopped broccoli

1 cup of chopped ham

2 cups of leftover spaghetti

Olive oil

Whip the first 4 ingredients together and set to the side.

In an oven proof pan that can go from stove top to oven without being ruined, turn on your flame to 3/4 high.  Add olive oil to the pan toss in your broccoli, ham and spaghetti. 

When they are nice and hot, pour your egg/cheese mixture into the pan evenly to coat the whole pan.

Turn your flame down to just under 1/2 high.  Let this cook for about 4  minutes.  While this is cooking turn on your broiler on low heat and adjust your rack so it is near the bottom of your oven.  After 4 minutes on top of the stove, place the pan on the bottom rack and let it cook for a good 5 minutes.  Check it and make sure it doesn’t over cook. 

Remove from oven and let sit for a good 5 minutes then cut and serve!  It is good hot or cold!

Isn’t that just beautiful? 

When Maddy arrived home for dinner I knew I was going to have to choose my words wisely when discussing “what’s for dinner”.  While I was super stoked about my creation, you never know how it is going to go over with a 7-year-old!  

So I started mentioning the ingredients, all things she loves.  I omitted the spaghetti as I thought that might freak her out.  She said, “ALL in one dish?”.  I said yep.  Then she approached the table and I knew I had to give her a head’s up about the spaghetti or this could go really wrong… so I did… “And there is spaghetti in it!”, I said proudly.  “Spaghetti, well that is just plain weird.”, said Maddy.

We all sat down, said our prayer for our meal and started to dig in.  We made a deal with Maddy.  One bite of yummy toast followed by a bite of frittata.  Every other bite, no exceptions.  I actually caught her taking a second bite of the frittata instead of reaching for her toast.  Dinner success! 

Love,

Candis aka West

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Joyce Edson on February 11, 2011 at 2:06 am

    I remember this dish somewhere in the distant past… good job West!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

