Sliders and soup. It’s what’s for dinner!

Wednesday was another super cold day here, in my neck of the woods. Which means, an even colder evening and night. That could only mean one thing, soup and sliders were in order for dinner!

I don’t make a lot of soups. It is in part due to growing up in India. And in part, me!? Not sure. But soups are not on my menu a lot.

One of the best soups I have made is the Italian Wedding soup based on the recipe from my friend Lisa. So delicious! It has been loved by the whole family. Do try it and let me know what you think. Based on Lisa’s recipe, I have made similar soups a couple other times. A hit with my sons.

Have you tried Dee’s tomato soup recipe yet!? I haven’t either. I am not a fan of tomato soup. Maybe her soup will convert me!? Who knows!? I should give it a try. And you should too. Another soup I really want make is this split pea and ham soup.

Recently I came across this recipe for creamy carrot and jalapeno soup, a hot and spicy soup (do cut back on the jalapenos if you are not a fan of the heat). Delicious, if you like a bit of a kick in your soup. And I had all the ingredients on hand. So I made it. I highly recommend it. While the soup was simmering,  it was time to move on to sliders.

I love sliders. I was introduced to sliders thanks to my dear friend Rob. In fact, it was due to her blog that  I started cooking Western cuisine.

My recipe for sliders:

1lb ground lamb

½ onion finely chopped

1 stick celery finely chopped

1.5 tsp Indian chili powder

1 tsp turmeric

1 tsp cumin seeds

1.5 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1 egg (if I have no eggs I soak a couple slices of bread in water for a few seconds, squeeze out the water and shred the bread into the lamb mix)

Salt to taste

**Toppings (see “Toppings” section below) — get the toppings ready before you start making the sliders (be sure to pop the Kohlrabi in the oven before you start making the sliders)

Combine all the ingredients (except the toppings) till well mixed, cover and chill for 15 minutes. Cook on a heated skillet or griddle at about 400 degrees for about 6-7 minutes. Flip in between. Cook the sliders till they feel firm to the touch.

I like to fry the slider buns (the inner side) in the lamb grease in the skillet/griddle. Throw some butter into the grease, open up the sliders buns and lay them on the skillet/griddle in which the lamb was cooked. Take the buns off the skillet/griddle after about 30 seconds. Turn off skillet or pan.

You can turn off the simmering soup now.

Begin plating! Have the slider toppings ready nearby.

Lay the bottom portion of the bun on a plate. Apply some of the fry sauce. Lay the slider. Top the slider with some Kohlrabi chips, onions and mushrooms. Apply some fry sauce on the top half of the slider bun and lay it on top.

Soup and Sliders. Dinner is now served.

**Toppings:

I baked the peeled and chopped Kohlrabi in a mixture of olive oil, turmeric and cumin for about 30 minutes at 375. I didn’t let it get too crisp. The spice of the chili powder against the sweetness of the kohlrabi take the sliders to whole another level

  • Sautéed Onions (in Olive oil)
  • Sliced mushrooms sautéed in some butter and salt and pepper and then cooked in some wine
  • Fry sauce – equal parts mayonnaise and ketchup (Source: Pioneer Woman’s blog)

Good night all.

Much love,

Radhika.

Leave a Reply

