Easy Sweets for the Sweet

I LOVED my Easy Bake Oven as a kid.  I remember my sister and I concocting thing in it all the time.  Mine was a turquoise color and looked a bit industrial.  It was a fond memory of my childhood and one that I certainly wanted to share with my daughter.

So for Christmas Aunt Steen bought Maddy her very own Easy Bake… 100watt bulb and all!  Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy and today was our day to finally rock this thing!

We started with an easy cookie recipe that I have been dying to try; Cake Mix Cookies.  I found this recipe through a Facebook friend who found it on Allrecipes.com.  With Valentines Day coming I thought I could  mix it up and make a strawberry cookies with white chips.  Then I thought maybe a chocolate with white chips too.  Kind of a dipped strawberry if you ate two at a time!  (Which I am sure I would never do…)  And no, the image right below is from my big-girl oven!  Easy Bake to follow!

Cake Mix Cookies

  • 1 (18.25 oz) package of cake mix (you pick your flavor)
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup chips (pick a complimentary flavor to your mix)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tsp vegetable oil (only added that for the chocolate mix for more intense flavor)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a medium bowl, stir everything except the chips till well blended. Mix in the chips. Drop by spoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheets.  I used a two table spoons to shape my cookies for consistency.
  3. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven. Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.  It is important to leave them on the sheet as they will be pretty limp when you remove from the oven.

Just as we started the chocolate batch Maddy had cleaned her pans and was ready to load up the Easy Bake.  Here is my girl proud of her first cooking adventure by light bulb.

She carefully put the pan in and watched it disappear into a secret compartment that is WAY bright!  100watts really throws a lot of light!  You could go blind if you watch too long!!

Why don’t they make the window a real see-threw window?  Totally a rip off!  I don’t remember mine as a kid having a window you could see through either!  OH wait… maybe it is the 100watt bulb that they are trying to shield your eyes from!  Seriously, just realized that as I was typing this!!

We waited 10  minutes, the cookies took 10  minutes in my gas oven… who knows how long this thing should take!  So after 10  minutes we popped the tin out and it was starting to set-up but needed more time.  So in it went again, for another 10.

After nearly the full extra 10, we had our first cake.  It smelled a bit burnt as it started puffing over the sides of the pan; I am sure it is all over the light bulb!  I will figure that out later!

We are quite proud of our first cooking project with our 100watt bulb!  As Maddy dunked her cake/cookie in her milk she had a simle on her face and I knew what she was thinking… what are we going to try next!

Love,

Candis aka West

Leave a Reply

