Homemade Muffins = Happy Client

I goofed… a couple of weeks ago I was chatting with a client in California trying to pick a date for a visit to my office in Chicago. We tossed out a few days and settled on the 21st through the 22nd. I circulated the days in my office and everyone thought it worked for their schedules. After my client booked their flights, I looked my calendar again and guess what, the 21st is Presidents Day and my office is closed!  I am now working on my holiday!

So what to do to make it better?  Make muffins… yep, muffins for our breakfast meeting on the 22nd. I am planning to make sure that I am their favorite vendor by working on a holiday AND bring yummy muffins.

I went with two choices… pumpkin with pecan crumble and banana mango with coconut crumble. My pumpkin muffin is actually a box mix. Don’t stop reading here… I am telling you that I have not been able to top Trader Joes box mixes. They are amazing and quick.  During the holiday’s I always buy extra of the pumpkin as it is a seasonal mix. I used my last box for this client!  My banana mango are from scratch using the banana bread recipe in this blog. I used half banana and half mango instead of all banana.

The crux of this post is not really the muffin, but how you can dress up any muffin mix or homemade recipe with an awesome crumble to no call it “your own” and send them over the top!

Crumble Topping
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup softened butter
1/2 tsp cinnamon
3/4 cup pecans (or coconut, peanuts, walnuts, anything you can think of) (hold the cinnamon if you use coconut)

Make muffin mix as you would from your own recipe or use mine above.

Put all but your nuts into a bowl and cut it with a pastry cutter to blent till crumbly. If you don’t have a pastry cutter use a fork so it stays crumbly. Add nuts (or other goodies) and blend.

Sprinkle generously on the top of each muffin and bake according to your recipe.

You can top your breads or muffins and even top cookies with it too.  The possibilities are endless and so yummy!

So now I am actually looking forward to  my meetings and offering a little love to my clients in the form of a muffin!  On top of yummy goodness for my meeting it is going to snow again today.  I am super stoked for one of my contacts as he has never seen snow.  He’s a California boy who has not ventured out of the Orange County to play in the white stuff.  Chicago is going to deliver 2-3 inches today just in time for him!  Can’t get much better than that!

Love,

Candis aka West

Leave a Reply

