Kid Friendly Comfort Food

The last few days has been a whirl-wind of client meetings and today was filled with follow-up notes and no excitement!  The high of providing my clients home-baked muffins had worn off and it was bone grabbing cold… the kind of cold that sinks in and you can’t shake it.  The temp was 32 today but the humidity was high and the sky was gray; I was in a funk.

At lunch I started dreaming of something to break my funk.  Something that would warm the cockles of my heart and bones!  Ah-ha, that is it!  Head across the pond to Great Brittain for Shepard’s Pie!

I have never made it from scratch, always used a mix and added the usual beef, peas and potatoes.  I could do it, why not!  I found a great recipe by Googling and decided to change it up a bit add my signature!

Shepards Pie

Step 1- make a pot of mashed potatoes, I use russet potatoes and always make extra so I can just pop them in the fridge and take out for later or make potato soup!

Step 2- the meat!  Brown the beef or lamb and add everything listed below in Step 2 in the order it appears.
1.5 lbs ground beef or lamb
1 TBLS dried minced onion
1/4 cup worcestershire sauce
1 TBLS ketchup
1 cup water
1 package of brown gravy (I use Simply Organic, they are great)
1 TBLS butter
salt and pepper to taste

Step 3- veggies!  I used 1 bag of frozen mixed (peas, carrots, corn, beans), half a bag of peas (we love peas) and 1/2 a bag of spinach.  Thaw them prior to adding to the meat.

Step 4- the assembly… in a 9×13-ish baking dish layer in  your meat/veggie mix, top that with a generous layer of mashed potatoes.  Sprinkle with sweet Hungarian paprika and top with a sprinkling of shredded cheese (your choice).  Bake at 350 for a good 20 minutes till everything is bubbly.

Emma, Maddy’s best friend, was over for dinner tonight.  She sometimes doesn’t like to eat at my house as I make the kids try everything once and sometimes even twice!  Funny, when I eat at her mom’s house she does the same thing!  I made each girl a small serving just in case.  Emma took a good long look and declared that she will try it as it smelled good enough.

“Mrs Candis, is that spinach in there?” Emma asked.  “Why yes it is, try it, it tastes like the meat.”  Emma is a meat eater from way back I knew that would hook her!  Emma cautiously took her first bite, then a smile came over her face.  “Yes it does taste good, my mom is always trying to get me to eat that stuff.”  Emma was the first to finish her dinner.  Maddy finished second… but that was only because Maddy had a lot to talk about during dinner!

Try this yummy treat with your picky eaters.  I bet you see smiles like these and clean plates too!

Love,

Candis aka West

One response to this post.

  1. Love those faces! AND the clean plates. XO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

