Who Want’s Pot Roast?

Up with the birds today. I had made a decision that I would start getting up earlier since spring is almost here. I need to cultivate some good habits before the weather turns and getting up earlier to accomplish something sounded really good!

It is 5:30am, I have been up for a total of 10 minutes and I am board already!  No noise, no one to “play with”, can’t make too much racket.  Hey, where is that crock pot?

I have always wanted to be a crock pot girl.  I want to prepare meals while I am at work. I want to walk into the house with the unbelievable smell of roast, chilli, cocovan… oh the thought of it all!  Pot roast is now on the menu!

Crock Pot Roast

  • 3 lb chuck roast
  • 1 packet dry onion soup mix
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 3/4 cup water
  • salt, pepper, garlic powder
  • olive oil
  • 6 carrots
  • 10 mushrooms

Sprinkle your roast with salt, pepper and garlic powder and brown in a little olive oil in a hot pan.

Once browned place in your crock pot and sprinkle the dry onion soup mix on top of your meat.  Next layer on the cream of mushroom soup.  Pour your water along the sides of the roast, not over top of the roast.  Place carrots as a ring around the roast and finally your mushrooms on the top of your roast.

Oh my goodness… isn’t it pretty!

Turn heat on low and let cook all day!  Mine was on from 6am till 6pm. At 6pm I removed the roast and the veggies and added some cornstarch (1 tbls starch to 4 tbls water) and made a nice gravy.  Dinner is served!

It was so tender.  It fell apart as I placed it in the serving dish.  I left the noodles to the side of the roast.  My girl LOVES roast, noodles and cooked carrots.  BUT she doesn’t like them all mixed up.  So for her we offer a fancy presentation in a large serving bowl so she can make sure to dress her plate without anything touching.  I am lucky that she eats whatever is presented for dinner.  But she has to keep it all separate.  I am good with that!

Tonight she did dip a noodle and a piece of bread into the gravy.  She declared that is was SO SO… I think we are making progress on the gravy front!

Love,

Candis aka West

Leave a Reply

