I want CAKE!

Jim hollered from the basement… make me something sweet please!!!!  YIKES, I just had a big breakfast a few hours ago and didn’t bother with lunch as I was still full.  But there was a little spark of hunger that cake would fill.  I really should have chosen a cake I didn’t LOVE.  That is  my secret to trying to eat healthy.  Make things I like or that my family likes better and I can do with just one small piece and not the whole thing! 

Alas, I went for everyone’s favorite here a pineapple cake with coconut, almonds and brown sugar.  As I type this I am picking out crumbs from my keyboard.  I can’t get enough of it… there goes the 10 pounds I have lost!

Pineapple Coconut Cake

  • 1 package vanilla cake mix (I only use Trader Joes mix, it is AMAZING)
  • 3/4 of a 16 oz bag of frozen pineapple
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 a stick of softened butter
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 handfuls of coconut
  • 2 handfuls of unsalted almonds chopped
  • Pam to coat your 8x8x2 pan

Mix your cake as directed on your box.  Defrost your pineapple and chop it rough so it is in small pieces.  Drain as much of the juice as you can, you can squeeze it in a paper towel to really get the juice out.  This is an important step as this step adds more moisture to your cake and too much and it won’t bake well.  Add pineapple to your cake batter.

Next, make a crumble with the brown sugar, butter and flour.  Incorporate this well and add coconut and almonds and sprinkle over the cake batter.  Bake your cake according to the directions on your box mix.  You will have to add a good 10-15 minutes depending to accommodate for the pineapple and crumble.  Check your cake with a toothpick in the middle.  When it comes out clean you are good to go!

Couldn’t wait for a final shot; had to cut in.  This is a dense very moist cake.  You can see that my cooling rack embedded itself into my cake when I turned it out!  No worries, chop a little coconut and sprinkle on the top and add whipped cream when you serve.  I guarantee you no one will mind (or even notice) the little divots!

Love,

Candis aka West

One response to this post.

  1. WOW. YES. And here I thought the “divot’s” were intentional LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

